Mel
By Cameron Hurst, 21 May 2022
Who knew that every microblogger’s favourite fetishist started out as a Flinders Lane art bro?
HELMUT NEWTON: In Focus 29 Apr - 29 Jan 2023,
Syd
By June Miskell, 14 May 2022
“Where are you growing your roots? Who are you intertwined with?”
Roots 10 Apr - 22 May 2022,
A picture of the art
Memo Review 05: 2021
A$25.00
ADD TO CART
What is it like to make art the way the world is today? What is it to write about art? Every review you read in 2022 will attempt to answer these questions, whether it knows it or not. You can see it if you look hard enough. And in thinking about this we perhaps hold a candle to the darkness, or perhaps these questions are the light that allows us to see the darkness around us. Thank you for reading Memo lit by the world’s candlelight. Featuring A. D. S. Donaldson, Adelle Mills, Amelia Winata, Amy May Stuart, Anna Parlane, Audrey Schmidt, Babs Rapeport, Cameron Hurst, Chelsea Hopper, David Wlazlo, Diego Ramírez, Francis Plagne, Giles Fielke, Hilary Thurlow, Jarrod Zlatic, Léuli Eshrāghi, Luke Smythe, Matt Marasco, Michelle Guo, Miriam La Rosa, Paris Lettau, Philip Brophy, Rex Butler Sofia Skobeleva, Tara Heffernan, Tara Mcdowell, Timmah Ball, Ursula Cornelia De Leeuw, Victoria Perin, and Vincent Le.
A picture of the art
Everyone's a Critic Cap
A$30.00
ADD TO CART
Critic Cap by Memo Review. Back due to popular demand!
A picture of the art
Memo Review 04: 2020
A$25.00
ADD TO CART
There is no getting around it: 2020 was the year of COVID. It was something that all kinds of cultural activities tried to make sense of. We could quote, to show it has all apparently happened before, Daniel Defoe’s *A Journal of the Plague Year* at you. Or, like everybody else, you could read some prominent philosopher or cultural theorist try to make sense of it. Slavoj Žižek wrote no fewer than two books on the subject during the year, which made us realise that at least he was doing what he usually does during lockdown. And we for our part at *Memo Review* also did what we usually do. Here are the forty-seven reviews we published during the year—a year when virtually every show we reviewed was only available online.
Mel
  • Camille Orel
, 26 Mar 2022
A picture of the art
5 Mar - 19 Jun 2022 Geelong Gallery
Syd
  • Joel Sherwood Spring
, 20 Mar 2022
A picture of the art
12 Mar - 12 Jun 2022 National Art School Gallery, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia (MCA)
Mel
  • Anna Parlane
, 19 Mar 2022
A picture of the art
Atong Atem, Everything in Remission, 12 Feb - 27 Mar 2022 Gertrude Contemporary Vittoria di Stefano, The Palace at 4pm, 12 Feb - 27 Mar 2022 Gertrude Contemporary
Mel
  • Tim Riley Walsh
, 26 Feb 2022
A picture of the art
10 Dec - 8 May 2022 Buxton Contemporary
Syd
  • Anastasia Murney
, 5 Mar 2022
A picture of the art
4 Jan - 27 Mar 2022 Campbelltown Arts Centre
Mel
By Giles Fielke, 12 Mar 2022
As I exit the crypt, I land on the phrase: “minimum chips and two potato cakes, please”. The entire exhibit is signed “Peter Tyndall Bonzaview December 2021”. I think of a favourite local band called Minimum Chips. One of their better tunes played itself back in my head as I stepped out onto Lyttleton Street.
SINCLAIR+GALLERY 16 Dec - 10 Jul 2022,
Mel
  • Giles Fielke
, 12 Mar 2022
A picture of the art
16 Dec - 10 Jul 2022 Castlemaine Art Museum
Mel
  • Scott Robinson
, 6 Mar 2022
A picture of the art
19 Feb - 25 Feb 2022 Savage Garden
MAF
By Giles Fielke, 19 Feb 2022
If a Manhattan is made from whiskey, sweet vermouth and bitters, a Melbourne might be natural wine, Glenfiddich and craft beer, all served in a wine cooler purchased yesterday at Myer. I repeatedly see the same man dressed impeccably in a tux and drinking one while picking at a cheese platter at the tables set up adjacent to the expo-centre’s lavatories. Shaken, not stirred. Clearly.
Melbourne Art Fair ,